Women who do art: Marlene Dumas

(I may not hvve enough time to write a whole lot of new blog posts, but I might as well post the ones I’ve already written…)

Marlene Dumas
was born in the small South African farming town Jacobsdal (where her father had a winery) in 1953 and moved to Cape town in 1972. She now lives and works in Amsterdam, mostly with oil on canvas and ink on paper.

According to dear Wikipedia she “uses the human figure as a means to critique contemporary ideas of racial, sexual, and social identity”. Now that sounds interesting, doesn’t it?* She’s also really good with that ink. My mum (who’s an artist) can talk about the way she’s drawn the lines in one of her ink sketches forever.


(Does this remind you a bit of Andy Warhol?)

*ps. I’m not so sure I’m in love with the idea of a white woman using black bodies to critique ideas of identity anymore. I guess the way you think really does change over time…

pps. If you google her name and find one of those woman-from-behind-grabbing-her-own-ass-from-between-her-legs pictures – No, I don’t get them either. They kind of make me cringe actually.

Leave a comment

Filed under Art, Women who do art

Comment