Hi there diversity / More on the 12th doctor

I’m involved in a couple of discussions on the next doctor at the moment. In one of them the latest comment included: Talk of how the formula of having a male doctor has already proven itself. “I’m all for feminism, but…” Why change the gender of the doctor just for the sake of it? The creators of the show must have had a reason for not having black/female/other species than human doctors before (So I guess we should just… trust that they know what they’re doing?). And: I’m biased against white males in Doctor Who.

‘Cause I’m too lazy to write a proper post about it – here is my  copy+pasted reply:

 

“Why? Because hello 2013. Because hi there diversity. And somewhere far away, some sort of work towards ending sexist and all around bad depictions of women and POCs in tv shows. I’d like to welcome that. And because DW has a pretty bad track record in this area, especially considering the endless possibilities of having a diverse cast. The number of women and others who don’t fit into the white, male norm has even gone down since Davies ran the show. And I’d prefer going forwards to going backwards.

But yeah, it could rock the boat. The “formula” hasn’t proven itself, since it has never been tried before. Apart from the fact that I’m convinced it could work, and could even bring more fans to the show (I for one have stopped watching because I’m so damn tired of the same thing all over again – white guy, pretty white girl tralala) – I’d take that risk anyway. It’s one worth taking if Moffat wants to take the show into the 21st century (a bit late, but hey better late than never).

“I’m all for feminism, but…” doesn’t usually mean anything good. There’s no “but” in feminism and applying it in real life, in your working place, in the things you create. Not to me. It’s a necessity if we truly want to move forward. But I don’t want to change the gender of the doctor “just” because of the equality argument. I want the show to change. I want some fresh air breathed into the stale old formula. A change of perspective for the doctor would probably do that.

Yes, I am biased against white males for the role of the doctor, because I want something else. And everyone else is biased against that something else. The people who could see a woman in the role of the doctor, but would prefer a male one, they’re biased too. Be it as much because of the show’s earlier history as because of sexist ideas about women and men (and actresses and actors), it is still being biased.

But at least the scope of physical traits my bias is FOR is wide. Anyone who’s not white AND male is okay. That’s quite a range to pick from, don’t you think? Especially considering half of the world’s population is female.”

“Oh and yes, the writers/producers/etc have had a reason for going with white males. And that’s the reason I’m trying to fight against. It’s called kyriarchy. Patriachy, rasism, sexism. Oh so very neat how it all fits together…”

I should probably have mentioned more than sexism and racism. But I’m sick and tired (as in caugh caugh sneeze snot phlegm-sick – and therefore tired). My brain can only formulate the most basic ideas about discrimination and inequality right now.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Comment

