Women who do art: Romaine Brooks


Self-portrait (1923)

Romaine Brooks was born 1874 in Rome. She was American but mostly worked in France and Italy.

I hope you forgive me for copying the art-stuff straight from Wikipedia:
“[Brooks] specialized in portraiture and used a subdued palette dominated by the color gray. Brooks ignored contemporary artistic trends such as Cubism and Fauvism, drawing instead on the Symbolist and Aesthetic movements of the 19th century…”

She painted both anonymous models and really famous (rich) ones, and was most famous for portraits of androgynous women, sometimes dressed in “masculine dress” – which seems to mean fancy suits, and the occasional fancy hat (I like!).

File:Romaine Brooks - Peter.jpg
Peter, a young English girl


La France Croisée (The Cross of France)


Una, Lady Troubridge

File:Romaine Brooks - Portrait of Natalie Barney.jpg
Miss Natalie Barney, “L’Amazone”

2 Comments

Filed under Art, Women who do art

2 responses to “Women who do art: Romaine Brooks

  1. Please do watch the “masculine dress” issue as it is in contention by myself and others (see Jonathan Katz on you tube commenting on it. We have discussed this issue and both disagree with the looseness of what has been written about dress during this period. And in Brooks’ case in particular.

    • Your comment is a bit vague, so I’m not sure exactly what you’re referring to. However, I put citation marks around the word because I was quoting the Wikipedia article. It’s the way Brooks portraits are usually described, not my personal assessment of the clothes in the paintings.

      I can’t seem to find anything on this subject on your blog. I think my fever makes me a bit slow in the head. Would you mind providing me with a link to a relevant blog post (or Youtube video)?

Comment

